About Us

Welcome to Our Site

John J. and Helena S. 'Skipper' Raskob

Who we are

The Raskob Foundation is an independent, private family foundation. Founded in 1945, the Foundation is proud of its legacy of grant making and philanthropic activity in service to the Catholic Church and institutions and organizations identified with it. Currently, five generations of family members continue the vision established by its founders, John and Helena Raskob. Explore more about the Foundation below.

Our History

John J. and Helena S. Raskob established the Raskob Foundation for Catholic Activities, Inc. in 1945. The Foundation has its corporate offices at "Irisbrook," the former residence of Mr. Raskob's brother, William F. Raskob, in Greenville, Delaware, a suburb of Wilmington. The Foundation is international in scope, accepting requests from around the world.

John J. Raskob, a financier, corporate executive and director of the DuPont Company, the General Motors Corporation, and the Bankers Trust Company, among others, conceived of and commissioned the construction of the Empire State Building in New York City. He was one-time Chairman of the National Democratic Committee and headed the 1928 Presidential campaign of New York State Governor Al Smith. (See links below for more information about John J. Raskob.)

Helena S. Green Raskob was a dedicated Catholic, the Greene family having been members of the Roman Catholic Church for over 285 years. She was a direct descendant of Thomas Greene, one of the first colonists of Maryland, who came to the “New World” in 1634 aboard the “Ark” with Governor Leonard Calvert’s expedition.  Thirteen years later, Thomas Greene was to become the Governor of Maryland.    Helena studied music at the Conservatory of Leffson-Hille in Philadelphia and later taught piano.  She was a warm, compassionate person and dedicated philanthropist, intuitively sensitive to the feelings of others.  She was particularly aware of and helpful to those in need, respecting their concerns and individuality.

Mr. and Mrs. Raskob were Catholics with a simple but profound vision. They believed that God had blessed them abundantly, and that they, in turn, were called to give thanks through personal service and generous financial support of the Catholic Church. They envisioned that this call to service and religious philanthropy would be a legacy for their descendants, to be handed on from generation to generation. They modeled an approach to philanthropy emphasizing behind the scenes, practical and pastoral grant-making.

The Foundation that John J. and Helena S. Raskob established continues in their memory.  Currently, the Foundation has over 140 family members, reaching to five generations and has distributed over $200 million in grants to Catholic organizations and programs throughout the world. Through the work of the Foundation, the family is committed to continuing the vision that John and Helena established.

More information about John J. Raskob is available at:

Hagley Museum Exhibit
Everybody Ought to be Rich: The Life and Times of John J. Raskob, Capitalist by Dr. David Farber

Board of Trustees

Theodore H. Bremekamp, III
Mark P. Bremer
Noelle M. Fracyon
Sr. Patricia Geuting
Sarah A. Harmon
Patrick W. McGrory
J. Weslie McVean
Christopher R. Raskob
Claire E. Raskob
Ramona L. Raskob
Timothy T. Raskob
Kerry A. Robinson
Trista B. Ussery


Patrick W. McGrory
Noelle M. Fracyon
Theodore H. Bremekamp, III
1st Vice President
Anthony W. Raskob, Jr.
2nd Vice President
Christopher R. Raskob
T. Mark Raskob
1st Assistant Treasurer
Timothy T. Raskob
Corporate Secretary
Theresa G. Robinson
Executive Director

Foundation Staff

Cheryl Bailey
Amanda Gebbie
Member Services & Meeting Management
Jonathan Goff
Administrative Assistant
Janine Harlam
Grant Administrator
Maureen Horner
Grant Associate
John Lakatos
Maintenance & Property Management
Daniela Maas
Theresa Robinson
Executive Director
Charlie Rotunno
Vice President Programs
Joanne Stewart
Director Information Technology
Shannon Sweeney
Grant Associate


Financial Information

Our five most recently filed Form 990-PF are provided below for public inspection.  Form 990-PF is an annual information return for private foundations required by the IRS that details a foundation's financial position and charitable activities. 

Our forms can also be viewed at  Registration with GuideStar is required to access this information. 

The above documents require Adobe Acrobat Reader.